PDA

View Full Version : Bachelor of Arts and no future

jayebird307
01-22-2003, 12:46 PM
All right, Iím going to be pessimistic, but I need to get this out. I donít know if other Arts majors are going through what Iím going through, but hereís my story:

I graduated almost 6 years ago with a Bachelor of Arts degree. My major was Theatre (with an emphasis in Management/Publicity) and my minor was Public Relations. Since graduation, I have been floundering in a series of go-nowhere jobs, mostly clerical. Some of these were temporary through agencies, a couple of them I got downsized from, and two of them I was fired from. Once was because I wasnít a good enough receptionist, and the other was because I was severely depressed, both personally and professionally. Iíve tried to do Theatre as a volunteer on the side, and I have been able to do quite a few shows (of course, they canít fire me Ė Iím a volunteer).

Iíve been on a downward spiral emotionally for the last six years, and came close to a complete breakdown last summer. I canít find a job that makes me happy or that has any kind of creative work to it. I get bored quickly at the clerical jobs I do, but I canít find a job in Public Relations due to my lack of experience. I feel completely lost with no future except to just keep going from one dead-end job to the next. And I canít even get a half-decent job now with my work history.

I feel like the biggest mistake of my life was becoming a Theatre major. I wanted to write, but I thought I could get a job doing promotional work for theatres. I should have stayed a Journalism major like I started out. I know others on this site have said ďfollow your dreams, the future will take care of itself.Ē But, unless you are super-talented, I think you should stay away from becoming an Arts major and go with something more stable like Business, Marketing, or Education.