PDA

View Full Version : Crazy Supervisors!!

coll214
06-12-2003, 12:46 PM
I need to do some serious venting and this seems to be the safest place to do it with no repercussions!!!!

Why is it that older supervisors seem to think that just because you're the youngest that means you're the dumbest and can be the scapegoat for everything??? Since when does age correlate with IQ?

I work at a university and our main office supervisor seems to think that she can yell at me for things that i have absolutely no control over. I know i'm a manager (you cannot yell at the clerical employees), and yes make mistakes from time to time just like everyone else, but it's ridiculous. I have no control over what another senior manager did 3 freakin years ago when i didn't even work here.

95% of the time i sit at my desk quietly doing my work and mind my own business and it seems like she takes advantage of the fact that i'm quiet. I think today was the first time I gave it right back to her and she was a little taken aback. Oh Well
:twisted: !!!

Thanks for letting me vent!! Back to the salt mines...

crazy-girl
06-12-2003, 02:44 PM
I think you hit it right on the head when you said that she probably thinks she can yell at you because you're quiet. I think for many people quiet=weak. I'm glad you stood up for yourself.

Some people think there's no way to exert power without being an arse a lot of the time. So they pick on people they think will let them, younger people who probably won't want to yell at an elder, quiet people who don't like confrontation and people with already low self-esteem.