PDA

View Full Version : Extremely Lost

Still Looking
09-24-2006, 08:54 AM
Hey everyone, I am new to the message boards here and would like to share my QLC. I am 26 yrs old and graduated from college 4 years. Since graduation, I just started on my 3rd job. My first job lasted about 2 yrs, second job 1.5 yrs, now I am on my third. I am in the struggling automotive manufacturing industry and absolutely hate it. Of all three jobs, after a few weeks I hate them. The majority of the people in the industry are assholes and want to give you a hard time everyday, plus I HATE working in a cubicle. I am so sick of only getting calls from recruiters wanting me to interview at other automotive companies.
This is my QLC. I am struggling so bad right now to try and figure out what I actually want to do with my life! A few years ago I had a "bridge" job in construction and really enjoyed that. Plus I used to work for a family relative in construction during high school and enjoyed that. I am worried that if I give up the excellent pay in the automotive industry and go into construction or project manager in construction that I will regret it. I just feel like getting the hell out of this industry and going to work for Home Depot, where I do not have to sit in a freaking cubicle all day and I would actually get to interact with the public. First of all, I do not know how to change careers and second, I would like to find another career in another state. The number of decent single women my age is very small here. There are very few people here in my age group, most are married with kids. The state / city that I would like to move to I have already visited and will visit again in a few weeks.
Any suggestions on how to move to another state while changing careers? Would it be stupid to take a job at Home Depot, construction job, or how could I find a city project management job that does not require cubicle life?
Please help!

winneythepooh7
09-24-2006, 11:21 AM