PDA

View Full Version : Which state has best welfare benefits?

unpopular
10-27-2006, 11:58 PM
Hey everybody. I returned to the US after taking an unpaid internship in Europe for most of this year. I have very little money left, and probably will have to go on welfare. But I can go to any state, and I need to decide which state has the best welfare benefits.

What are your experiences with welfare benefits in your state?

I have a BA and a Master's, so I'm probably not the typical person on welfare. In my field (librarianship) there is a huge imbalance between the number of jobs and the number of job-seekers. I'm getting very good at applying for jobs in my field and not getting hired, so if some states require proof of job applications in order to get benefits that won't be a problem. There are plenty of job ads, but hundreds of applicants for each, so in all probability I could go for years applying for three jobs every week and still not get hired.

And I'm a bit of an introvert as well. I do well working at libraries where I have very specialized knowledge, but I doubt I could just work at a department store or somplace where I know very little about the products being sold.

Where can one live on welfare checks? I'm now thinking about going to a remote village in coastal Alaska, but I could go anywhere and want to hear your stories about welfare in your state.

yankeeyosh
10-28-2006, 12:06 AM
I am a proponent of the welfare state, but I seriously don't think your situation warrants you going on welfare. If you need a job desperately, you can temp.

PenforPrez
10-28-2006, 12:20 AM
If you need a job desperately, you can temp.

That's what I had to do. I was so desperate, I could not afford to leave my house. So I went out EVERY DAY to find a job, and landed one in a month. And I'm making slightly more than the job I left. Not that that is any great accomplishment. :rolleyes: