PDA

View Full Version : A Year After Graduating, All I am is Bored and Lonely

ClassyGuy02
09-24-2007, 12:20 PM
I am new to the boards, and am wondering if others are feeling the same way as me, or can give me advice on where to go to help change my life so I am no longer miserable but happy to be alive and wake up excited for the day.

I graduated last year, and have a pretty decent job now (but I did pay the price by being an admin. gopher for a year). I have a finace who I love very much, but I am quite unhappy. Mainly for two reasons: I am bored and lonely. I went to college far away from home and all my college friends are doing their own thing 3 states away. Now that I am back home there is like nobody to hang out with, a few unreliable high school friends....so I have no social life and that is killing me. I am also really bored. Corporate America is not very interesting, despite the pay, and I feel like a broken record every day doing the same things over and over. I like to go camping and canoeing, but don't have the money for that now that student loans have kicked in and I have a wedding to pay for.

My life in college was so colorful, interesting, dynamic and dramatic. My life post college is grey, boring, lonely and mildly depressing.

I used to take risks (moving across the country, buying a jeep wrangler instead of a toyota corrolla ect) and now the working world kinda forces you to play the safe boring card...just sit in the suburbs living life, with a trip to family and Home Depot as the highlight of the weekend. This does not make me happy.

Does anyone else feel like this? What do you do to get out of this? I know that life can be everything I want it to be, but how do I get there, given this new reality of life post-college?

Bocheezu
09-24-2007, 01:38 PM