PDA

View Full Version : why oh why did i go to grad school???

miner_engineer
04-12-2005, 12:42 AM
I graduated Magna Cum Laude with a BS and MS in Mechanical Engineering. Both degrees obtained from one of the finest engineering schools in the midwest. When I graduated with my BS in 2000, the economy was great and engineers were stepping out with big salaries and bonuses. I thought I would be all the better if I stuck around to get my Masters Degree. What an idiot I was!! George Dubya got elected and the engineering job market went to hell in a handbasket in the amount of time I could say 'strategery.' Since grad school, I have had one full time job. I had to leave that position because my husband found a decent job (he's a computer scientist) in another city. My old job was crap really - it didn't require an engineering degree but after a year of job searching, it was the best I could find. Now that we have moved, I can't even get a job at Wal-Mart. All the retail stores seem to laugh at the idea than an educated engineer would even give them an application!!! I try to explain that I am dependable and that I will show up to work on time everyday and give 100% but somehow they seem to prefer the hassle of dealing with a purple-haired, tongue-pierced, meth junkie who won't 'leave soon at the first sign of a better job.' Doesn't everyone leave wal-mart or home depot if they were offered a job at 4 - 6 times their salary? If I am willing to work hard for them, what does it matter if I am educated? Companies looking for engineers won't hire me - too many 'gaps.' Yeah, like the gaps where I COULDN'T find a job!!! Do HR people miss the fundamental concept of vicious circle?? I have some experience since I took several co-op positions while in college so I thought that would help. But, since my last job was little more than CAD work, most companies seeking engineers see it as no experience. I have found that if you have any type of engineering degree it is 'use-it-or-lose-