about us | workshops | message boards       
quarterlifecrisis.com    people blur   
a one-stop info-shop for recent grads & beyond      
   lifeworkplay   

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

angry Look young but I'm not. Embarrassed when people ask me my age....Am I OK??

I'm soon to be 30 in about six months. It seems like I only get approached by guys under 25, people always seem to think I'm much younger than what I am. Usually I get 19-22. I guess that's about right, because when I graduated from High School, people seemed to think I was about 12. I'm really small 115 pounds 5'4". I work out alot. I dress cute...a few classic pieces mixed with a few trendy pieces. After working many years in the legal field (which I hated) I went back to school FT at the age of 25 and I'm almost done. I apply for internships to get experience, I slip in the fact that I'm a non-traditional student, but they always seem to forget that I'm not 18-21 when they meet me.

Today at work....in front of everyone in my office, another woman my same age was talking about how hard it was raising kids. Someone asked me did I have any, and I said no quickly. Then someone else remarked that I had plenty of time (thinking I was younger). Then the woman asks me "How old are you?" I just kinda froze....Everyone was staring at me. I lied. I knock off a couple of years and everyone still Gasps...."You are that old??!! I thought you were much younger...Well what are you waiting for? You don't want any kids? I thought you were a student??" Now I guess everyone will look at me as an Old loser, someone that should have finished college years ago. Geez, I knock off a few years and they still have a hard time believing how old I am!!! Suddenly I feel awful that at my age, I am just an intern and I'm not already established in a career.