about us | workshops | message boards       
quarterlifecrisis.com    people blur   
a one-stop info-shop for recent grads & beyond      
   lifeworkplay   

Teachers-Masters plus 30 graduate hours....

I am an ESL teacher with a MA in TESOL. I want to work towards my plus 30 graduate hours. First, because it will get me higher on the pay scale. Second, because maybe I can get another certification/or courses under my belt to make me more marketable etc.

I've thought about working towards a second Masters because I don't want to have just a bunch of courses/credits floating around, but some people I have chatted with even my own boss has said, 'Why get a second Masters, just get a PhD."

Since I already have a Masters...could someone tell me how much more work a PhD would be? Is the difference the thesis paper?

How does one pick the PhD?

I am very interested in a few areas of education.....
    1. International/Comparative Education/Global Studies in Education.
    2. ESL/Bilingual Education
    3. Instructional Technology
    4. Reading (not so much as the others)

Does anyone know of a PhD that would combine...these esp....the top three..? I've thought about a PhD in Langauge, Literacy and Culture...that would be pretty close....

Some of my main goals in education.....to continue teaching children, teach ESL/reading to adults on the community college/university level, (Maybe teach new teachers how to teach ESL), learn more about what other countries are doing in education/how does it compare to what we are doing here, develop curriculum/software in ESL, write articles about education....etc.

Would a PhD qualify me to do these things?

Does anyone know of any Colleges/Universities that are "real" (made of birck/stone) that offer PhD progams online or at a distance...?

Thanks for any advice you can give me!
    Jamie