about us | workshops | message boards       
quarterlifecrisis.com    people blur   
a one-stop info-shop for recent grads & beyond      
   lifeworkplay   

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Graduated over 3 years ago, and no decent job

I find some comfort in reading some of these posts so I thought I'd share my situation. I am at a total loss right now...I graduated in 2005 from a decent school with a not so wise choice of a degree in art history and fine arts. I chose those majors because that was what interested me at the time. I found after graduating that I most likely would not do much with it. I thought about grad school for art history, but decided it wasn't for me. So almost four years later, I still have not gotten a decent paying job, but I have worked steadily at crappy hourly jobs. Last Spring, I decided to apply into a local community school for ultrasound, but it's looking like I may not get into the program despite taking the prerequisites because it's so competitive. I'm still going to apply, but I feel so stuck and that I'm getting no where. I thought about a master's in social work, but it's looking like it would be very difficult to get into the program with no experience in the field. I am completely lost. My plan as a sonographer may not work out, I don't have a decent paying job, and I still have to live at home. To add to the mix, I have clinical depression. The last time I felt this bad, I had just graduated. I have since been in therapy and take medication, but I can't help but feel so crappy. Any suggestions, thoughts, or opinions?